What Countries Are Next to Czechia?

In this article, you’ll learn about the countries next to Czechia. Those countries include Bohemia, Moravia, and Moravia. Also mentioned are Sudan and Eritrea. You might be surprised to know that there are many others in the area! Take a look!

Bohemia, Moravia and Moravia

The Czech Republic is a primarily continental country, although Bohemia is warmer and more temperate than other parts of the country. Its proximity to the Baltic Sea contributes to its climate, which is generally changeable and unpredictable. Winters can be cold, while summers can be hot, with temperatures ranging between 30degC and 86degF. The region is also subject to heavy rainfall, with the most significant amounts occurring in July and August.

Moravia is situated in a transitive area between the Bohemian Massif and the Carpathians. Its northern border is the Krkonose Mountains, while its eastern border is marked by the Javorniky Mountains. The country is surrounded by three broad valleys: the Dyje-Svratka Vale, the Upper Morava Vale, and the Lower Morava Vale. Its highest peak, Praded, is 1490 meters high.

Bohemia, Moravia and Morava were once part of the Germanic Holy Roman Empire. This was the time of the Hussite Wars, a religious conflict between reformers and the pope’s forces in the 15th century. In the 16th century, Bohemia came under the control of the Habsburgs. After Napoleon’s victory at Austerlitz, the area was incorporated into Austria-Hungary.

In the sixth century, Slavic-speaking groups settled in the area. The Czechs lived in central Bohemia, while the Moravians lived in the east along the Morava and Dyje rivers. In the eleventh century, the princely Premyslid dynasty gathered both Moravia and Bohemia under his rule. Together, they would form the foundation of the Czech state.

After World War I, the Austro-Hungarian Empire was dissolved, and the former Kingdom of Bohemia became the Republic of Czechoslovakia. However, a violent anti-Catholic movement began to take hold of the country. Many people believed the Catholic Church had betrayed their nation. During this time, the Czechs accepted the Protestant interpretation of Czech history and established Jan Hus as a central figure.

The landscape of the Czech Republic is remarkably varied. The western region, Bohemia, is characterized by low mountains, with the highest point being Snezka in the north. Moravia, on the other hand, is hilly and drained by the Morava River. The Morava River is also the source of the Odra River. The water from the Czech Republic flows into three different seas, including the North, the Baltic and the Pacific.

The historic capital of Moravia was Brno. During the Swedish occupation in 1641, Brno was the only city to stand against the Swedish invasion. Later, it became the sole capital after Olomouc was captured. In 1348, Brno was named the Margravate of Moravia, and had its own parliament. This parliament was called the zemsky snem, which is equivalent to the German Landtag. It had deputies elected from separate ethnic constituencies.

The Czech population was nearly wiped out during World War II. Hitler’s Nazi regime created a Protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia, with a prime minister and president who were subordinate to the Nazi Reichsprotektor. It was a brutal regime, with over 275,000 Czechoslovakian Jews killed. Romani speakers were also wiped out, and the Bohemian language was completely destroyed. However, after the Germans surrendered, the Czech Republic was reestablished.


A diplomat from Sudan recently visited the Czech Republic, where he met with the deputy speaker of parliament, the foreign minister and chamber of commerce figures. The diplomat gave a candid portrait of his country and discussed the possibility of reactivating agreements between the two countries. In fact, the Czech Republic was the first country to cancel Sudan’s debts.

The government of South Sudan must ensure accountability for the atrocities committed against its population. There is a growing incidence of arbitrary detention. Moreover, 60 percent of the population suffers from food insecurity. It is imperative to bring the perpetrators of the five-year-old conflict to justice. The ongoing sexual violence against girls and women must also be addressed.


If you’ve ever visited Eritrea, you know that the country has a peculiar sense of humour. Among the most popular sayings about Eritrea is that it has 365 prisons. This is perhaps an understatement, considering that prisoners of Eritrea’s government are often subjected to systematic torture and rape. As a result, approximately 12% of the population has already fled the country, and other citizens are still escaping. The European Union is trying to help, too. The EU has recently announced a EUR20 million project to connect Eritrea’s border with its coast ports. This investment could help boost the regional economy.

Eritrea is located in the Horn of Africa, between the Red Sea and the highlands. The country is bordered by four major rivers: the Baraka, the Anseba, the Gash, and the Mereb. The Gash, or Anseba, forms the country’s western border with Ethiopia.

Eritrea is a sovereign nation that was formed in 1993. Its coastline stretches across the Red Sea for nearly 630 miles. It also contains high craggy mountains, including the Danakil Depression. The capital city of Asmara sits on a plateau in the middle of the country. It takes about three hours to travel from Asmara to Massawa, a city surrounded by mountainous plateaus. The coastline of Eritrea is home to 350 uninhabited islands.